The designer showed up at the Met Gala 2012 wearing a sheer see-through dress over white boxers:

He explains:

“I just didn’t want to wear a tuxedo and be boring. I think Miuccia Prada is such a celebration of the unconventional and so it felt like, appropriate, somehow. [Schiaparelli and Prada] are two women that I have always loved the work of. I mean, Schiaparelli is one of my all-time heroes and Miuccia Prada continues to be a hero of mine. I am just looking forward to seeing the exhibition.”

And he sure wasn’t boring! It is not really a big surprise coming from Marc Jacobs though. A while ago, he paired those shoes with a pink polo dress at his party during Paris Fashion Week, take a look here:

 

I’m assuming he’s trying to showcase a different & dramatic look, and oh he did. So what do you guys think? Any thoughts?

 

